[]   Your account

Which dogs are in the Dangerous Dogs Act?

Which dogs are in the Dangerous Dogs Act?

The Dangerous Dogs Act makes it illegal to own a dog that’s considered to be ‘out of control’. It even goes so far as to ban four specific breeds of dog – considered to be the most dangerous.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Dangerous Dogs Act and the consequences of owning a dog that’s listed on it. 

Tom Harrison
Content writer
minute read
posted 8 OCTOBER 2019

What is the Dangerous Dogs Act?

The Dangerous Dogs Act was introduced in 1991 following a spate of dog attacks – including a number involving young children.

The Act made it illegal to have a dog that’s ‘dangerously out of control’ in a public place and was updated in 2014 to include private properties. ‘Dangerously out of control’ could manifest in a dog injuring a person, or giving someone ‘reasonable apprehension’ that it might do so. It’s also an offence for a dog to attack an assistance dog, i.e. a guide dog.

If a dog is found to be behaving dangerously, owners could face serious consequences, including a ban on dog ownership, a fine and even a prison sentence.

The Dangerous Dogs Act applies to all breeds of dog, and there are a few notable breeds that are now forbidden by law.

Which dogs are banned under the Dangerous Dogs Act?

The four breeds banned by the Dangerous Dogs Act are:

  • Pit Bull Terrier
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Fila Brasileiro

This means that it’s illegal to own, sell, breed, give away or abandon any of these dogs. The law also applies to cross-breeds.

What’s more, whether a dog is considered illegal or not can depend on its ‘type’, not just its breed. This means that if a dog shares physical characteristics with one of the four banned breeds, it could also be considered illegal.

What happens if I own a banned dog?

If you own one of the dogs banned under the Dangerous Dogs Act, the police (or a dog warden) have the legal right to confiscate the dog, even if it hasn’t behaved dangerously and no complaint has been made.

Once a dog has been seized, the police or a council dog expert will assess what type of dog it is and whether it could pose a danger to the public.

If they do consider the dog to be a threat to public safety, you’ll have to go to court to prove that it isn’t – and doesn’t share characteristics with – a banned breed. If you’re successful, you’ll be able to take your dog home with you. If not, however, you could face a hefty fine or even imprisonment.

Are there any circumstances in which you can own a banned dog?

If your dog is one of those banned by the Act, but it’s deemed not to be dangerous by the court, it may be able to return home with you and be put on the Index of Exempted Dogs (IED).

For dogs to be given a Certificate of Exemption, their owners must:

  • be over 16
  • have the dog neutered and microchipped
  • have the dog muzzled and on a lead when in public
  • house the dog in a secure place
  • be able to produce the Certificate of Exemption within five days of being asked by the police or a dog warden
  • tell the IED if they move house or if the dog dies
    have pet insurance that covers public liability.

Controversy around the Dangerous Dogs Act

The Act has attracted criticism from animal rights charities, such as the RSPCA and The Dogs Trust, who argue that the legislation is in serious need of an overhaul.  

The biggest criticism is that the emphasis is on banning ‘types’ of dog, based on the way they look. This means that a dog could be put down just for sharing physical characteristics with one that’s considered illegal.

Animal welfare groups also argue that a dog’s breed is not a good indicator of aggression levels, which is far more likely to be linked to how they’ve been raised and trained.

Can ‘dangerous dogs’ be covered by pet insurance?

An animal that’s successfully registered on the Index of Exempted Dogs must have pet insurance that includes third party liability cover. Compare the Market doesn’t currently offer quotes for dangerous dogs, so it may be best to contact insurance providers directly to see which ones will provide cover. 

Compare pet insurance

Get a pet insurance quote and you could start saving now

Get a quote
Compare pet insurance Get a quote

comparethemarket.com uses cookies to offer you the best experience online. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the use of cookies. If you would like to know more about cookies and how to manage them please view our privacy & cookie policy.